Loading...

The Funds

THE ALCUIN FUND

ALCUIN FUND, FACILITATING EDUCATIONAL INITIATIVES

THE ALCUIN FUND FOR SCHOOLS IS HOSTED BY THE KING BAUDOUIN FOUNDATION

THE ALCUIN FUND FOR SCHOOLS

Facilitating initiatives at grass-roots level by education providers everywhere in Europe

The Alcuin Fund has been contributing to education in Europe since 2017.

Conscious of the great need for educational alternatives to enable ALL children to succeed, the foundation supports initiatives at grass-roots level that can respond to the variety of children’s current educational needs in Belgium and more widely in Europe. These projects have open approaches and teaching methods, and are accessible to everyone. They are supported by men and women who are concerned to actively create a more human society, “for the development of not-for-profit educational establishments, which are open to everyone and of high quality, offering a diverse range of teaching methods whilst remaining affordable for the greatest number of pupils” (articles of incorporation of 7th December 2016).

The Fund has chosen to place itself under the patronage of Alcuin (732-804), an eminent European and close adviser to Charlemagne, who was a central figure during the Carolingian Renaissance and founded the Palatine Academy. He popularised knowledge of grammar, rhetoric and dialectics among the clergy and laypersons.

 

Why we chose Alcuin, and who is he…? Click here.

THE KING BAUDOUIN FOUNDATION

Working together for a better society

The King Baudouin Foundation is the largest foundation in Belgium, managing a budget of 64 million euros in 2017. It serves the public interest and increases social cohesion by supporting initiatives of individuals and organisations. Acknowledged as being of public benefit, its key values are integrity, transparency, pluralism, independence, respect for diversity and promoting solidarity.

It is currently active in the areas of poverty, social justice, health, civic engagement, developing talents, democracy, European integration and heritage. It operates at several levels, from Belgium to Europe, Africa and more widely internationally. It was created on the 25th anniversary of the reign of King Baudouin, in 1976.

ORGANISATION

THE GOVERNING BOARD THAT MANAGES THE ALCUIN FOUNDATION FOR SCHOOLS INCLUDES A REPRESENTATIVE OF THE KING BAUDOUIN FOUNDATION (HOST FOUNDATION), AND TWO PRIVATE FOUNDERS, AN INSTITUTIONAL FOUNDER AND A CHOSEN QUALIFIED PERSON.

1- GOVERNING BOARD

THE KING BAUDOUIN FOUNDATION

REPRESENTED BY :

Françoise Pissard: director of the KIng Baudouin Foundation
pissart.f@kbs-frb.be

Assisted by:

THE FOUNDERS

2 NATURAL PERSONS

An Economic and Social Sciences graduate (FUNDP Namur) with a post-graduate diploma in international relations (University of Vienna), Jean-Charles de le Court has worked in finance for 22 years as a creator and manager of investment funds, in Brussels and Luxembourg.

Jean-Charles de Le Court
Chairman of the Alcuin Fund for Schools

A spirited storyteller, having studied declamation at the Brussels Conservatory, and art history graduate with a love for theatre and literature, Valérie d’Ursel has an appetite for literary tales and adaptation, a passion for historic heritage and is a playwright and writer.

Valérie d’Ursel(de La Rochefoucauld)
co-Founder

1 LEGAL PERSON: THE FONDATION FOR THE SCHOOL

Facilitator of educational initiatives, the Fondation pour l’Ecole seeks to promote freedom of teaching methods and diversity in education.

It is recognised as being of public benefit in France, hosting 11 foundations and can host others in the field of education.

In 2015-2016, it granted 2.7 million euros in subsidies to educational projects (4.7 million euros including aid allocated by its 11 sheltered foundations).

A partner at Delsol Avocats and joint head of the Paris team in the Department of Not-for-Profit Organisations, Lionel Devic has a DEA (post-graduate degree) in Business Law from the Université Jean Moulin Lyon III. He notably co-founded a secondary and a primary school, together with the Fondation pour l'école. He manages the publication of the website www.fonds-dotation.fr.

Lionel Devic
Chairman of the Fondation pour l’école

A graduate of the Institut d’Etudes Politiques in Paris and former student of the Ecole Normale Supérieure and the Ecole Nationale d’Administration, Anne Coffinier was a French diplomat in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. She has focused her career on education through the management of several educational NGOs: chair and founder of the association Créer son école, she also founded the Institut Libre de Formation des Maîtres.

Anne Coffinier
Founder and general manager of the Fondation pour l’école

QUALIFIED PERSON

Félix de Merode trained in philosophy, theology and classical humanities and holds a Master’s degree in management. Executive assistant, boarding school teacher then manager of a youth training centre (ABSL Aurora), and public relations director of Mécénat Merode (2011), Félix has managed the Lycée Molière since 2012 and the Bruxelles-Argenteuil European school since 2016.

Félix de Merode
co-Founder, qualified person

2- OPERATION

Resources

The Alcuin Fund is funded almost exclusively by donations from private individuals and legal entities located for the most part in Europe.

Operational expenditure

The Alcuin Fund has no personnel or premises. It relies on the commitment of its trustees.

Intervention expenditure

The Alcuin Fund for Schools publishes calls for projects to invite educational charities which require financial assistance to submit funding requests.

The Alcuin Fund organises two donation committee meetings per year, which decide on the subsidies it will grant during the following six months. The first donation committee meetings will take place in October and November 2017 and will trigger the implementation of the first Alcuin Fund subsidies to various educational projects in Belgium and elsewhere in Europe.

The Alcuin Fund respects the code of ethics of the King Baudouin Foundation which hosts it, in line with the Association pour une Ethique dans les Récoltes de Fonds.

3 - ACCOUNTS

The Accounts of the Alcuin Fund are prepared by the King Baudouin Foundation in accordance with current legislation. They are drawn up on 31st December each year and published in the following March.

Annual Activity Report : the 2017 financial year is the Alcuin Fund’s first year of activity. The Alcuin Fund activity report will be available in April 2018.

  • INFORMATION LETTER

Loading...

Le fonds Alcuin

Le Fonds Alcuin

Fonds Alcuin, facilitateur d’initiatives éducatives

LE FONDS ALCUIN POUR L’ÉCOLE EST UN FONDS ABRITÉ PAR LA FONDATION ROI BAUDOUIN

LE FONDS ALCUIN POUR L’ÉCOLE

Faciliter les initiatives de terrain des acteurs de l’éducation partout en Europe

Le Fonds Alcuin est engagé pour l’éducation en Europe depuis 2017.

Conscient que le besoin d’alternatives scolaires pour permettre à TOUS les enfants de réussir est grand, le Fonds soutient les initiatives de terrain susceptibles de répondre à la variété des besoins éducatifs actuels des enfants en Belgique et en Europe. Ces projets sont ouverts dans leurs approches, leurs pédagogies et accessibles à tous. Ils sont portés par des hommes et des femmes soucieux d’agir pour une société plus humaine, « afin que se développent des établissements d’enseignement, à but non lucratif, accueillants pour tou(te)s et qui soient des haute qualité, de pédagogies diversifiées tout en étant abordables financièrement pour le plus grand nombre » (convention de création du 7 décembre 2016).

Le Fonds a choisi de se placer sous le patronage d’Alcuin (732-804), grand Européen s’il en est, proche conseiller de Charlemagne, acteur central de la Renaissance carolingienne et fondateur de l’Académie palatine. Il vulgarisa la connaissance de la grammaire, rhétorique et dialectique auprès des clercs et des laïcs.

 

Pourquoi avoir choisi Alcuin, et qui est-il …? Cliquez ici.

LA FONDATION ROI BAUDOUIN

Agir ensemble pour une société meilleure

La Fondation Roi Baudouin est la plus grande fondation de Belgique, avec un budget de 64 millions d’euros pour 2017. Elle sert l’intérêt général et la cohésion sociale en soutenant des particuliers et des organisations dans leurs initiatives. Reconnue d’utilité publique, elle a pour valeurs l’intégrité, la transparence, le pluralisme, l’indépendance, le respect de la diversité et la promotion de la solidarité.

Elle œuvre actuellement dans les domaines de la pauvreté, la justice sociale, la santé, l’engagement sociétal, le développement, la démocratie, l’intégration européenne, le patrimoine. Son action s’étend à plusieurs niveaux, de la Belgique à l’Europe, l’Afrique, et plus largement à l’échelle internationale. Créée à l’occasion des 25 ans de règne du roi Baudouin, elle existe depuis 1976.

Organisation

Le comité de gestion qui pilote le Fonds Alcuin pour l’école comprend un représentant de la Fondation Roi Baudouin (fondation abritante), ainsi que deux fondateurs particuliers, un fondateur institutionnel et une personnalité qualifiée choisie.

1- COMITÉ DE GESTION

La Fondation Roi Baudouin

représentée par :

Françoise Pissard : directrice de la Fondation Roi Baudouin
pissart.f@kbs-frb.be

Assistée de :

Les Fondateurs

2 personnes physiques

Formé en Sciences Économiques et Sociales (FUNDP Namur) ainsi qu’en relations internationales (post-graduat à l’université de Vienne), Jean-Charles de le Court exerce depuis 22 ans dans la finance, comme créateur et gestionnaire de fonds d’investissements, à Bruxelles et au Luxembourg.

Jean-Charles de Le Court
Président du Fonds Alcuin pour l’école

Conteuse pleine de fougue, issue du cours de déclamation au Conservatoire de Bruxelles, formée en histoire de l’art et férue de théâtre ainsi que de littérature, Valérie d’Ursel a le goût des contes littéraires et de l’adaptation, se passionne pour le patrimoine historique et écrit des pièces ainsi que des livres.

Valérie d’Ursel(de La Rochefoucauld)
co-Fondatrice

1 personne morale : la fondation pour l'école

Facilitatrice d’initiatives pédagogiques, la Fondation pour l’école cherche à promouvoir la liberté de l’enseignement et la diversité de l’offre éducative.

Elle est reconnue d’utilité publique en France, abrite 11 fondations et peut en accueillir d’autres dans le domaine éducatif.

Lors de l’exercice 2015-2016, elle a octroyé 2,7 millions d’euros de subventions à des œuvres éducatives (4,7 millions d’euros si l’on inclut les aides versées par ses 11 fondations abritées).

Avocat Associé chez Delsol Avocats et co-responsable de l'équipe parisienne du département Organisations non lucratives, Lionel Devic est titulaire d’un DA de Droit des affaires obtenu à l’université Jean Moulin Lyon III. Il a notamment co-fondé un collège et une école primaire ainsi que la Fondation pour l'école. Il dirige la publication du site www.fonds-dotation.fr.

Lionel Devic
Président de la Fondation pour l’école

Diplômée de l’Institut d’Etudes Politiques de Paris et ancienne élève de l’Ecole Normale Supérieure ainsi que de l’Ecole Nationale d’Administration, Anne Coffinier a été diplomate française au Ministère des Affaires Etrangères. Elle s’est consacrée à l’éducation en dirigeant plusieurs ONG éducatives : présidente et fondatrice de l’association Créer son école, elle est aussi fondatrice de l’Institut Libre de Formation des Maîtres.

Anne Coffinier
Fondatrice et directeur général de la Fondation pour l’école

La Personne qualifiée

Félix de Merode a reçu une formation de philosophie, de théologie, d’humanités classiques et un master en management. Assistant de direction, maître d’internat puis responsable d’un pôle jeunesse et formation (ABSL Aurora), ainsi que directeur des relations publiques de Mécénat Merode (2011), Félix dirige le Lycée Molière depuis 2012 ainsi que l’école européenne Bruxelles-Argenteuil depuis 2016.

Félix de Merode
co-Fondateur, personne qualifiée

2- FONCTIONNEMENT

Ses ressources

Le Fonds Alcuin vit presque exclusivement des dons qu’il reçoit de particuliers et de personnes morales situées essentiellement en Europe.

Ses dépenses de fonctionnement

Le Fonds Alcuin n’a ni personnel ni locaux en propre. Il repose sur l’engagement de ses administrateurs.

Ses dépenses d’intervention

Le Fonds Alcuin pour l’école publie des appels à projet pour inviter des œuvres éducatives ayant besoin de soutiens financiers à solliciter une aide de sa part.

Le Fonds Alcuin organise deux comités des dons par an, qui décident des subventions qu’il octroiera dans le semestre. Les premiers comités des dons auront lieu en octobre et novembre 2017 et déclenchera la mise en œuvre des premiers soutiens du Fonds Alcuin à diverses œuvres éducatives situées en Belgique ou dans le reste de l’Europe.

Le Fonds Alcuin respecte le code de déontologie de la Fondation Roi Baudouin qui l’héberge, celui de l’Association pour une Ethique dans les Récoltes de Fonds.

3 - COMPTES

Les comptes du Fonds Alcuin sont établis par la Fondation Roi Baudouin dans le respect de la législation. Ils sont arrêtés chaque 31 décembre et publiés au courant du mois de mars de l’année suivante.

Rapport d’activité annuel : l’année 2017 représente le premier exercice d’activité du Fonds Alcuin. Le rapport d’activité du Fonds Alcuin sera disponible en avril 2018.

  • LETTRE D’INFORMATION